Congratulations to the Clinician Research Fellows for 2020

Acting Chief Executive Jackie Hanson and Executive Director Research Scott Bell welcome the 2020 Clinician Research Fellows.

Recipients of the second round of Metro North Clinician Research Fellowships have been announced.

The Program awards up to five Fellowship awards annually, specifically designed to allow Metro North’s emerging and highly skilled clinician researchers to develop and advance a body of research aligned to the Research Strategy to create a strong foundation of evidence-based healthcare.

The Fellowship funding provides four years of clinical backfill to allow recipients to enhance their research capacity. It’s an opportunity for Metro North’s brightest and most promising clinicians to delve deeper into their work and research.

Congratulations to the Clinician Research Fellows for 2020:

Dr Susan de Jersey, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, RBWHImproving nutrition related antenatal care to optimise future health outcomes for mothers and their offspring.

Susan will use her Fellowship to evaluate and scale effective interventions to improve health outcomes for pregnant women and their offspring. Her research will also help prevent the prevalence of excess gestational weight gain and gestational diabetes mellitus in pregnant women.

Dr Jayesh Dhanani, Intensive Care Medicine, RBWHInhale for comfort and analgesia – innovation in providing analgesia and sedation using nebulisation.

Jayesh will use his Fellowship to lead research into aerosolised therapy, an emerging field to improve patient comfort. Data used from his research will help Jayesh design future pharmacokinetics studies for post-operative, emergency medicine and palliative care patients.

Dr Henry Marshall, Thoracic Medicine, TPCH CO-RiQUIRE (Comorbidity, Risk, QUIt, REach) – addressing lung cancer screening knowledge gaps.

Henry will use his Fellowship to maximise the efficiency and value add to lung cancer screening. His research will address four knowledge gaps of CT scanning: comorbidity, reach, prevention and risk.

A/Prof Kiran Shekar, Intensive Care Medicine, TPCHThe NO TUBE Project: Integrating non-invasive airway based respiratory support, nitric oxide gas inhalation and extracorporeal respiratory support to reduce the burden of invasive mechanical ventilation in intensive care units.

Kiran will use his Fellowship to gather data that will assist the development of cost-effective, viable alternatives to invasive mechanical ventilation in the ICU.

Dr Matthew Roberts, Department of Urology, RBWH Beyond the scalpel: Surgeon-led multidisciplinary urological care with innovative precision diagnostics and therapeutics.

Matthew will use his Fellowship to pursue ground-breaking surgical urologic oncology, endourology and associated clinical research to improve urological surgery related patient survival, quality of life and financial outcomes.

Congratulations to the 2020 recipients. Metro North is looking forward to seeing the progress of these diverse research projects.

2019-12-19T11:54:08+10:0017 December 2019|