Executive team2020-05-11T14:17:50+10:00

Executive team

The Board appoints and delegates the administrative function for Metro North Hospital and Health Service to the Chief Executive. The Chief Executive and leadership team are responsible for the operational implementation of the strategic direction and day-to-day management of Metro North Hospital and Health Service.

Chief Executive

Shaun DrummondHealth Service Chief Executive, Shaun Drummond

Shaun Drummond is the Chief Executive of Metro North. He has been Executive Director Operations of Metro North since 2014 and has been a Chief Operating Officer in the Health Sector for 15 years.

Shaun’s professional background is Industrial Relations and Organisational Development. During his career he has worked in the public health system in New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland and New Zealand.

Office of the Chief Executive

Melissa MacCabeMelissa has extensive experience in leadership and engagement with proven record of adding value through the public health sector. Mel has held Senior positions in both NSW Health and QLD Health for the past 12 years with her most recent role being the Executive Director, Healthcare Purchasing and System Performance within the Department of Health.

She has led the allocation of $14B of funding for purchasing of Health and Hospital Services ensuring delivery of health outcomes as specified in HHS Service Agreements, and has managed the complex consolidation of Queensland Ambulance Service (QAS) into Queensland Health.

Assoc Prof Clair SullivanA/ Prof Clair Sullivan graduated with Honours in Medicine and a Research Doctorate in Medicine (UK). She is a fellow of both the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and the Australian College of Health Informatics. She has been appointed Associate Professor of Clinical Informatics at the University of Queensland and is widely published in clinical informatics and serves on several national advisory boards for digital health.

Mr Mark ButterworthMark Butterworth is a Radiographer and Nuclear Medicine Scientist. He is an avowed technological determinist and has observed sustained, accelerated development of technology, drive not only in his profession but many of society’s social and cultural values. He uses significant strategic and operational experience from working in and with public, private, commercial and academic organisations to ensure he has an engaged workforce, delivering competent, compassionate and connected health outcomes that matter to care participants.

Colleen JenColleen Jen is an experienced nurse and health service planner. Colleen has over 20 years’ clinical experience including 15 years of nursing management. She has more than 10 years’ experience in health service planning at a facility, health service and state level. Her previous health portfolios have included asset management and property services, infrastructure planning, strategic policy and indigenous health. Colleen holds a Graduate Certificate in Policy Analysis and a Masters in Critical Care Nursing.

Office of the Chief Executive, Director: Ms Vivienne Hassed

Board Secretary: Ms Jane Albatal

Communication, Director: Mr Matthew Stevenson


Operations, Executive Director: Adjunct Professor Jackie Hanson

Operations, Deputy Executive Director: Dr Simon Bugden

Assets and Infrastructure, Executive Director: Ms Kate Copeland

Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Executive Director: Dr David Rosengren

The Prince Charles Hospital, Executive Director: Ms Michele Gardner

Redcliffe Hospital, Executive Director: Ms Louise Oriti

Caboolture and Kilcoy Hospitals, Executive Director: Dr Lance Le Ray

Community and Oral Health, Executive Director: Ms Tami Photinos

Clinical Support Services, Acting Executive Director: Adjunct Professor Adam Scott

Mental Health, Executive Director: Professor Brett Emmerson AM

Clinical services

Dr Elizabeth WhitingDr Elizabeth Whiting is a pre-eminent specialist geriatric and general medicine physician at The Prince Charles Hospital. Liz’s extensive career includes working at The Prince Charles Hospital, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Cairns, the PA Hospital, and in Ireland. She has been a senior lecturer for the University of Queensland, the recipient of the Premier’s Award for Excellence in Public Service Delivery and is a member of the Australian and New Zealand Society for Geriatric Medicine, and the Internal Medicine Society of Australia and New Zealand.

She is currently a member of the Senior Examining Panel and is the Chair of the Clinical Examinations Committee.

Heart and Lung, Executive Director: Professor Peter Hopkins

Medicine, Executive Director: Associate Professor Jeffrey Rowland

Surgery, Executive Director: Dr Jason Jenkins

Critical Care, Executive Director: Associate Professor Colin Myers

Women’s and Children, Executive Director: Professor Leonie Callaway

Cancer Care, Acting Executive Director: Associate Professor Glen Kennedy

Research, Acting Executive Director: Emeritus Professor Jennifer Strong

Professional leads

Dr Elizabeth RushbrookDr Liz Rushbrook is a Specialist Medical Administrator with a wide range of hospital and military experience. Her 25-year medical career with the Royal Australian Navy included a variety of roles onshore and afloat, in general practice, emergency & disaster management and medical administration. Since joining Metro North in 2016, her interests expanded into Health Capacity Management, Emergency Preparedness, and Business Continuity. She is passionate about doctors health and wellbeing, conditions and professionalism.

Outside of health, Liz is a passionate supporter of Rugby Union, previously holding the positions of Vice President and President of the Royal Australian Navy Rugby Union. She can often be found at a local rugby match. She has also retained her passion for Defence and Veterans health through Defence Force Reserve work and her role as Chair of Team Rubicon Australia.

Adjunct Associate Professor Alanna GearyAdjunct Professor Alanna Geary has a nursing and midwifery career spanning more than 30 years and has worked in various specialties at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital including surgery, intensive care, orthopaedics, general medicine and infection control. Alanna holds a Masters of Health Science, and is Adjunct Professor at University of Queensland and Adjunct Associate Professor at Queensland University of Technology and Griffith University.

Contact us

Metro North Chief Executive
Located: Level 14, Block 7
Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital
Phone: (07) 3647 9501
Email:  MD16-MetroNorthHHS@health.qld.gov.au