Research Excellence Awards2021-07-30T15:33:29+10:00

Research Excellence Awards

High calibre research that is improving healthcare outcomes for patients happens every day across Metro North. Our annual Metro North Research Excellence Awards are a chance to recognise and reward outstanding achievement in research across all clinical specialties and professions.

Employees of Metro North Hospital and Health Service engaged in health and medical research are encouraged to nominate for the awards. There are seven categories reflecting the various stages of research: three individual awards and four project awards.

The 2021 Research Excellence Awards will include a special award, The Professor Joan Webster Nursing and Midwifery Award to recognise the research contribution by our nurses and midwives. This individual award seeks to acknowledge a nurse or midwife whose research helps to enhance and improve patient outcomes within Metro North.

More information regarding all the categories is included in the submission guidelines below.

Finalists will be invited to an awards ceremony in July.

Nominations are now closed

Nominations for the 2021 Metro North Research Excellence Awards are now closed.

Winners have been announced!


People (individual) Awards

An individual award that recognises an exceptional contribution to research which has impacted or has the potential to influence Metro North HHS patient outcomes through translation and/or implementation of research outcomes. Nominations will be sought from the Metro North Research Committee and each of the facility Executive Directors, Directors of Research and Clinical Research Directors/Leads. Direct nominations are also sought.

An individual award for early career researchers based on research outcomes achieved within 10 years (full-time equivalent) of commencement of the nominee’s research career at the time of nomination.

A research career will be considered as the date of award of the nominee’s first research higher degree. If the nominee does not have formal research qualifications, then the nominee’s research career will be considered to be the year of the nominee’s first research publication. Career interruptions impacting on full-time equivalence will be considered and assessed on the basis of Research Opportunity and Performance

An individual award that recognises an exceptional contribution to research by those who enable research through encouragement, mentorship or inspiration. This award seeks to acknowledge an individual who provides exceptional support and/or leadership that enhances research capacity within Metro North.

The Professor Joan Webster Nursing and Midwifery Award

This award is only open to nurses and midwives involved in research throughout Metro North who are nominated in one of the above individual categories (Research Support, Rising Star, Researcher of the Year). To be considered, select the tick box “I would like to be considered for The Professor Joan Webster Nursing and Midwifery Award” on the online nomination form.

Project (individual or team) Awards

A team award that recognises research innovation, technology (including information technology and biotechnology) and/or basic science research which is relevant to clinical care. The research project addresses fundamental gaps in clinical knowledge through discovery stage research.

A team award that recognises a research project (comprising of a single or limited number of cohesive studies), which is developing new clinical knowledge or trialling innovative approaches relevant to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease for Metro North patients.

A team award that acknowledges research which actively demonstrates multidisciplinary teamwork as integral to all phases of the project/programme of research that impacts on understanding and/or resolution of complex health challenges.

A team award that recognises implementation of research and/or health services research, which has led to significant improvements in patient centred outcomes and which impacts on effectiveness, access or efficiency of health service delivery.

Please read the submission guidelines for the criteria for each award.

This is the sixth year we have held the Metro North Research Excellence Awards. The 2020 awards attracted 28 high calibre submissions across seven categories.

Previous Winners and Galleries

Proudly sponsored by

RBWH Foundation
The Common Good